Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Sports Award

Inspiring Healthier Communities through Sport

    Release Date: March 20, 2019 | Application Deadline: Wed, 29 May 2019


The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Sports Award recognizes sports teams, athletes, and community-based organizations that use sports to catalyze and sustain changes to make communities healthier places to live, learn, work, and play.


The Foundation will consider applications in the following three categories:

  • Category 1: A professional sports team community relations department or foundation based in the United States or Canada.
  • Category 2: An individual athlete or professional coach's foundation based in the United States or Canada.
  • Category 3: An organization in the United States or Canada that is an influential leader and model for improving community health through sports.

Up to three awards may be given each year—one in each category outlined above.

Applicants that are not charitable organizations or public entities must apply with an organization that is such an entity and will receive the prize funds. Additional documentation may be requested. 

Eligible organizations must already be in existence; funding not available for equipment, transportation, facilites or other program expenses.

If you are a chapter within a larger organization, the umbrella organization is eligible to apply, but individual chapters are not. We encourage national offices of affiliate organizations to feature the work of their local organizations in their application.

The Foundation pledges to work in ways that reflect our values and our guiding principles. We strive to treat everyone with respect; we cultivate diversity, inclusion, and collaboration; and we act as good stewards of private resources, using them to advance the public’s interest. We recognize that our reputation and success also depend upon the integrity, fairness, and sound judgment of those with whom we work.   

With these principles in mind, the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF) will not consider an application if it is submitted by an entity whose name, brand, or practices—in the Foundation’s judgment—denigrates, harms, or discriminates against any racial or ethnic group. For example, a team with a name or mascot that, in RWJF’s view, denigrates Native Americans will not be eligible for the award.


In determining the winners of the RWJF Sports Award, we will take into account our guiding principles in addition to the following selection criteria:


2019 Key Dates:

May 29, 2019 (5:00 p.m. ET)
Deadline for receipt of online applications

Week of July 29, 2019
Finalists notified

Week of September 16, 2019
Winners notified

November 7, 2019
Presentation to awardees, Princeton, N.J.


Each category winner recieves:

  • $10,000 cash prize;
  • Your story and successes is celebrated broadly to inspire others;
  • Opportunity to engage with other community leaders at RWJF headquarters during private ceremony.

Application is Now Closed

Application closed as of:
May 29, 2019, 5:00 p.m. ET

Key Contacts

Alisha Greenberg


Inspiring Healthier Commuinties

RWJF Sports Award

The RWJF Sports Award focuses on recognizing those in sport who display an innovative and collaborative approach to making their communities a healthier place to live.

Read more

From the Blog

Lifting the Weight of Incarceration

2018 RWJF Sports Award winner, InnerCity Weightlifting, is helping former inmates find success after incarceration.

Read the blog post

Can Sports Help Young People Heal From Trauma?

Doc Wayne, 2016 RWJF Sports Award winner, fuses emotional and behavioral therapy to its sports program to improve the mental and overall health of children in Boston.

Read the blog post