Harold Amos Medical Faculty Development Program (AMFDP)

2019 Call for Applications

    Release Date: February 5, 2019 | Application Deadline: Tue, 19 Mar 2019


The Harold Amos Medical Faculty Development Program (AMFDP) offers four-year postdoctoral research awards to physicians, dentists, and nurses from historically disadvantaged backgrounds who are committed to:

  • developing careers and achieving senior rank in academic medicine, dentistry, or nursing;
  • fostering the development of succeeding classes of physicians, dentists, and nurses from historically disadvantaged backgrounds;
  • improving the health of underserved populations; and/or
  • working toward understanding and eliminating health disparities by achieving senior rank in academic medicine, dentistry, or nursing.

Eligibility and Selection Criteria

To be eligible for this award, applicants must be physicians, dentists, or nurses who:

  • are from historically disadvantaged backgrounds [1]
  • are U.S. citizens, permanent residents at the time of application, or individuals granted Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (“DACA”) status by the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services [2] at the time of application (changes in federal policy or law may necessitate that we consider adjustments in eligibility and grant terms);
  • are completing or have completed their formal clinical training (we will give preference to those who have recently completed their formal clinical training or—in the case of nurses—their research doctorate);
  • are not related by blood or marriage to any Officer [3] or Trustee of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, or be a descendant of its founder, Robert Wood Johnson.

Federal, state, tribal, and local government employees who are not considered government officials [4]  under Section 4946 of the Internal Revenue Code are eligible to apply.

Physicians must be Board-eligible to apply for this program. A dental applicant must be a general dentist with a master’s degree or a PhD or have completed advanced dental education. Nurse applicants must be registered nurses with a research doctorate in nursing or a related discipline completed by the application deadline.

Full eligibility criteria (including footnotes) are available in the CFA.



Key Dates

March 19, 2019 (3 p.m. ET)
Deadline for receipt of completed online applications.

July 10–12, 2019
Applicant interviews with national advisory committee members in Chicago.

December 2019
Notification of awards.

Total Awards

RWJF will fund up to 10 four-year awards of up to $420,000 each in this grant cycle. Scholars will receive an annual stipend of up to $75,000 each, complemented by a $30,000 annual grant to support research activities. As detailed on page 5 of the CFA, additional awards are available through partnerships with the American Society of Hematology (ASH), the American Society of Nephrology (ASN), and the American Heart Association (AHA).

Application is Now Closed

Application closed as of:
March 19, 2019, 3:00 p.m. ET

Key Contacts

Nina Ardery, deputy director

Phone: (317) 278-0500

Email:  amfdp@indiana.edu