2017 RWJF Culture of Health Prize

Call for Applications

    Release Date: August 10, 2016 | Application Deadline: November 03, 2016, 3:00 p.m. ET


The RWJF Culture of Health Prize recognizes communities that have placed a priority on health and are creating powerful partnerships and deep commitments that will enable everyone, especially those facing the greatest challenges, with the opportunity to live well. A Culture of Health recognizes that health and wellbeing are greatly influenced by where we live, work, the safety of our surroundings, and the relationships we have in our families and communities. The Prize elevates the compelling stories of local leaders and community members who are coming together to create conditions for health and prosperity by transforming neighborhoods, schools, and businesses—so that good health flourishes everywhere.

Eligibility and Selection Criteria

To be eligible to apply for a prize, a “community” must be based in the United States* and fall into one of the following categories:

  • Town, village, borough, or other local incorporated place
  • City
  • County or parish
  • Federally-recognized tribe
  • Native Hawaiian organization serving and representing the interests of
  • Native Hawaiians in Hawaii
  • Region (such as contiguous towns, cities, or counties)

         * Communities within U.S. territories are welcome to apply.

Neighborhoods, states, and unincorporated local communities are not eligible to apply.

With the exception of previous Prize winners and 2016 finalists, all past applicants are eligible to reapply in 2017 (2016 finalists may reapply in 2018).

Communities will be asked to select primary and alternate contact people for their application, preferably from two different organizations. Each individual will indicate one of the following organization types with which they are affiliated:

  • Business
  • Community coalition or resident group
  • Hospital or health care organization
  • Local foundation
  • Government agency or department
  • School
  • Non-profit community-based organization
  • Community development organization

Each applicant community will be required to designate a local U.S. governmental entity or tax exempt public charity operating in its community to accept the $25,000 Prize on the community’s behalf, should they win. Community partners can decide together how to use the funds to benefit the community; budget reports on Prize expenditures are not required.

Key Dates

Phase I
November 3, 2016 (3 p.m. ET)
Phase I Applications (for all applicant communities) due.

Phase II
December 9, 2016
Invitations extended to select applicant communities to submit Phase II Applications.

January 20, 2017 (3 p.m. ET)
Phase II Applications (for invited communities) due.

Site Visit Phase
March 3, 2017
Invitations extended to finalist communities to participate in the Site Visit Phase.

April 3–June 9, 2017
Site visits with finalist communities.

Recognition Phase
Fall 2017
National announcement of winners and celebration and learning event.

Total Awards

In this fifth round of the annual Prize competition, up to 10 winning communities will:

  • Receive a $25,000 cash prize;
  • Have their stories and successes celebrated broadly to inspire others toward locally-driven change;
  • Engage with other national and community leaders as ambassadors for building a Culture of Health across America; and,
  • Join a Prize Alumni Network to learn with other Prize winners and network locally, regionally, and nationally.

Application is Now Closed

Application closed as of:
November 03, 2016, 3:00 p.m. ET