2016 RWJF Culture of Health Prize

Call for Applications

    Release Date: August 10, 2015 | Application Deadline: November 12, 2015, 3:00 p.m. ET


The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF) Culture of Health Prize honors and elevates U.S. communities that are making great strides in their journey toward better health.

The RWJF Culture of Health Prize recognizes and celebrates communities that have placed a priority on health and are creating powerful partnerships and deep commitments to make change -- change that will enable all in our diverse society to lead healthier lives now and for generations to come. Winning communities will each receive a $25,000 cash prize and have their success stories celebrated and shared broadly to inspire locally-driven change across the nation.

Eligibility and Selection Criteria

The RWJF Culture of Health Prize honors whole U.S. communities; submissions representing the work of a single organization will not be considered.

To be eligible for a prize, a community must be based in the United States* and fall into one of the following categories:

  • Town, village, borough, and other local incorporated places
  • City
  • County or parish
  • Federally-recognized tribes
  • Native Hawaiian organizations serving and representing the interests of Native Hawaiians in Hawaii
  • Region (such as contiguous towns, cities, or counties)
    * Communities within U.S. territories are welcome to apply.

Neighborhoods, states, and unincorporated local communities are not eligible to apply.

With the exception of 2015 finalists and 2013-15 winners, all past applicants are eligible to reapply in 2016 (2015 finalists may reapply in 2017).

Communities will be asked to select primary and alternate contacts for their application. These individuals will indicate their organizational affiliation, which could be a:

  • Business
  • Community coalition or resident group
  • Hospital or health care organization
  • Local foundation
  • Government agency or department
  • School
  • Non-profit community-based organization

Each applicant community will be required to designate a local U.S. governmental entity or tax exempt public charity operating in its community to accept the $25,000 Prize on the community’s behalf, should they win. Community partners can decide together how to use the funds to benefit the community; budget reports to RWJF or University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute (UWPHI) on Prize expenditures are not required.

Key Dates

November 12, 2015 (3 p.m. ET)
Phase I Applications (for all applicant communities) due.

December 14, 2015
Invitations extended to select applicant communities to submit Phase II Applications.

January 25, 2016 (3 p.m. ET)
Phase II Applications (for invited communities) due.

March 4, 2016
Invitations extended to finalist communities to participate in the Site Visit Phase.

April 6 – June 15, 2016
Site visits with finalist communities.

Fall 2016
National announcement of winners and celebration event.

Total Awards

Up to 10 RWJF Culture of Health Prize winning communities will be honored in 2016 and each will receive a $25,000 cash prize.

Application is Now Closed

Application closed as of:
November 12, 2015, 3:00 p.m. ET

Key Contacts

Olivia Little
Community Health Improvement Specialist

University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute