Legacy Award Celebrating 10th Anniversary of the Steve Patterson Award for Excellence in Sports Philanthropy Announced

    • April 1, 2014

Princeton, N.J.—In honor of the 10th anniversary of the Steve Patterson Award for Excellence in Sports Philanthropy, the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF) will present the Legacy Award and a $10,000 cash award to two of the 18 previous Patterson Award recipients who have used this recognition to sustain and expand their valuable work.

“The greatest testament to the Patterson Award is that it gives organizations a platform for their future success,” said Alisha Greenberg, Executive Director of the Patterson Award. “Nothing makes us happier than hearing that our past winners have built on the Award to make a greater impact in their communities.”

The Patterson Award was established in 2005 after three-time NCAA basketball champion and six-year NBA veteran Steve Patterson lost his battle with cancer at the age of 56. Playing at UCLA under the legendary Coach John Wooden, Patterson learned what it meant to transcend sport and build a legacy. Following his playing career, Patterson shared his knowledge of the game as a coach, including five seasons at Arizona State University. It was during this period that Patterson fell in love with the Phoenix community and committed the remaining years of his life to seeing its sporting culture flourish. Among his many accomplishments to this end, Patterson served as President of the Super Bowl XXX committee and helped found the Grand Canyon State Games as well the Maricopa County Council on Youth Sports and Physical Activity. Patterson’s wife, Carlette, has continued their work through Patterson Sports Ventures.

Spanning all of these efforts, Patterson’s fundamental calling in life was to foster personal and social advancement through sport. The award in his name serves as a tribute to his legacy and is presented each year to an individual athlete or coach, professional team and sports philanthropic organization positively impacting their communities.

The 10-year milestone of the Patterson Award will be celebrated through the month of April (“Legacy Month”) culminating in the announcement of two Legacy Award winners. During this time, RWJF will remember the life of Patterson and reflect on the growth of the Patterson Award through the success of its inspiring recipients.

For more information on the Legacy Award and the 2014 Steve Patterson Award presented in September, visit http://www.rwjf.org/patterson.  For any questions, interview requests or additional information, contact Meredith Geisler at mgeisler@tandemse.com or (703) 740-5015.

Previous winners of the Patterson Award have include:

  • Philadelphia Eagles Youth Partnership (2005)
  • Jacksonville Jaguars Foundation (2006)
  • Memphis Grizzlies Charitable Foundation (2007)
  • The Moyer Foundation (2007)
  • San Francisco Giants Community Fund (2008)
  • Steve Nash Foundation (2008)
  • Marvin Lewis Community Fund (2009)
  • Red Sox Foundation (2009)
  • Dikembe Mutombo Foundation (2010)
  • U.S. Soccer Foundation (2010)
  • Cincinnati Reds Community Fund (2011)
  • Brian Griese and Judi's House (2011)
  • Chicago White Sox (2012)
  • Notah Begay III Foundation (2012)
  • Women's Sports Foundation (2012)
  • San Francisco 49ers (2013)
  • Tony Hawk Foundation (2013)
  • LA84 Foundation (2013)

About the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation

For more than 40 years the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation has worked to improve the health and health care of all Americans. We are striving to build a national culture of health that will enable all Americans to live longer, healthier lives now and for generations to come. For more information, visit www.rwjf.org. Follow the Foundation on Twitter at www.rwjf.org/twitter or on Facebook at www.rwjf.org/facebook.

Media Contacts

Melissa Blair

Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (609) 627-5937

Additional Media Contact: Meredith Geisler

Tandem Sports + Entertainment (703) 740-5015

Alisha Greenberg

Patterson Award (301) 657-9379