RWJF Scholar Alumni, Program Site Director and Trustee Named to Prestigious Federal Panel

    • December 22, 2010

Four of 19 new members of a prestigious federal medical research panel are alumni of Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF) Scholar programs or otherwise connected to the Foundation. The panel is the board of governors of the Patient-Centered Outcomes Research Institute (PCORI), created as part of the Affordable Care Act—the health reform law.

In September, Gene L. Dodaro, acting comptroller general of the United States and head of the U.S. Government Accountability Office, announced the appointment of 19 members of the 21-member panel. Among the appointees are two alumni of the RWJF Clinical Scholars program, Allen Douma, M.D. (1977-1979) and Grayson Norquist, M.D., M.S.P.H. (1985-1987); as well as Harlan Krumholz, M.D, Clinical Scholars program site director at Yale University; and RWJF Trustee Eugene Washington, M.D., M.Sc.

The two remaining members of the panel are designated by statute: the Director of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality of the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services and the Director of the National Institutes of Health.

The PCORI is a nonprofit organization created to carry out research aimed at understanding how diseases, disorders and other health conditions can be prevented, diagnosed, treated, monitored and managed. Findings from the organization’s research are intended to inform decisions by patients, providers and policy-makers.