Health & Society Scholars Advisory Committee Chair Wins Public Health's "Highest Prize"

May 20, 2011, 7:41 PM, Posted by

Congratulations to Harvey Fineberg, M.D., Ph.D., president of the Institute of Medicine and chair of the national advisory committee for the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF) Health & Society Scholars program, on being awarded the Frank A. Calderone Prize. Given every two years by Columbia University’s Mailman School of Public Health, the Calderone Prize is considered the “highest prize in public health.” Fineberg will accept the award at the Mailman School gala on October 18, 2011 in New York City.

"I am truly honored and humbled by this award and for the extraordinary recognition," Fineberg said in a statement. "It is a privilege to join the distinguished group of past recipients. I am grateful for the opportunity to have worked with so many able colleagues over the years and to continue our collective efforts to help advance the public's health."

Past recipients of the award include a former Surgeon General of the United States, former director of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, and the former U.N. High Commissioner for Human Rights, among others.

Learn more about Fineberg’s work and the Calderone Prize.

This commentary originally appeared on the RWJF Human Capital Blog. The views and opinions expressed here are those of the authors.