ENF Alum Named Kentucky Nurse of the Year

Jan 28, 2011, 9:54 PM, Posted by

Congratulations to Jane Kirschling, D.N.S., R.N., F.A.A.N., of the 2000 class of RWJF Executive Nurse Fellows. She was recently named a co-winner of the 2010 Kentucky Nurses Association “Nurse of the Year” Award. Kirschling has been Dean of the University of Kentucky College of Nursing since 2006 where, among other achievements, she implemented the Bachelor of Science in Nursing (BSN) to Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) program.

In receiving the award, Kirschling won high praise from University of Kentucky (U.K.) colleague Patricia Howard, Ph.D., R.N., C.N.A.A., F.A.A.N.: "She consistently fosters the growth of others and speaks for the discipline on matters that are visionary, often giving voice to those who otherwise would not be heard," said Howard, professor and associate dean for the Master of Science in Nursing (MSN) and DNP programs at the U.K. College of Nursing. "She is an individual of integrity who has elevated the status of the discipline of nursing in Kentucky."

Read more about the award and about the RWJF Executive Nurse Fellows program. For an overview of RWJF scholar and fellow opportunities, visit www.RWJFLeaders.org.

This commentary originally appeared on the RWJF Human Capital Blog. The views and opinions expressed here are those of the authors.