April 2006

Grant Results


Since 1995, the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF) has funded the Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC) to create and administer the David E. Rogers Award, which recognizes a medical school faculty member who has made major contributions to improving the health and health care of the American people.

Key Results
From 1995 to 2005, the following individuals received the David E. Rogers Award:

  • 1995–Diane Becker, Sc.D., M.P.H., Director, Center for Health Promotion, Associate Professor of Medicine, Johns Hopkins School of Medicine. The committee recognized Dr. Becker for the development of an innovative health care training and delivery model for health care programs in urban African-American communities and teaching students to adopt a holistic approach to medical care.
  • 1996–Robert G. Newman, M.D., President and CEO, Beth Israel Health Care System. Dr. Newman was recognized for his work in disseminating the message that drug addiction treatment works and that it should be made available to those who need it, just as other medical treatments are provided to those with other chronic illnesses.
  • 1997–Julius B. Richmond, M.D., John D. MacArthur Professor of Health Policy (Emeritus), Harvard University. Dr. Richmond was cited for his role as the first director of Project Head Start and initiation of the national community-based Neighborhood Health Centers.
  • 1998–Philip R. Lee, M.D., Senior Advisor and Professor Emeritus, University of California, San Francisco, School of Medicine. Dr. Lee was chosen for a career of accomplishment in medicine, government and academia.
  • 1999–William N. Kelley, M.D., CEO, University of Pennsylvania Health System; Dean, School of Medicine. Dr. Kelley led the development of one of the first academic, fully integrated health care delivery systems, building and promoting a model for strengthening the future of academic medicine.
  • 2000–Jeremiah Stamler, M.D., Professor Emeritus, Department of Preventive Medicine, Northwestern University Medical School. Dr. Stamler was chosen for his work to elucidate the causes, epidemiology, natural history, prevention and control of hypertensive and atherosclerotic diseases.
  • 2001–Barbara Barlow, M.D., Director of Surgery, Harlem Hospital Center; Professor of Clinical Surgery, Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons. Dr. Barlow has devoted most of her career to promoting national concern for the safety of children. She founded the Harlem Hospital Injury Prevention Program, a resource on the prevention of all types of childhood injury, including gunshot wounds, falls from heights, child abuse and neglect. Dr. Barlow was able to expand the program model to eight other cities across the nation, known as the Injury Free Coalition for Kids. See the Grant Results and a special report.
  • 2002–David A. Kessler, M.D., Former Commissioner, Food and Drug Administration (FDA); Dean, Yale University School of Medicine. A part of Dr. Kessler's career was dedicated to one of the most significant public health issues facing the nation — the destructive and addictive effects of smoking. Under his leadership as commissioner of the FDA, the FDA publicly announced the addictive properties of nicotine in cigarettes and the idea that most smokers are trying to satisfy an addiction. Dr. Kessler and his colleagues uncovered documents to verify that tobacco manufacturers knew of the pharmacological effects of nicotine.
  • 2003–Frank E. Speizer, M.D., Edward H. Kass Professor of Medicine, Co-Director, Channing Laboratory, Harvard Medical School; Professor of Environmental Sciences, Harvard School of Public Health, and Walter C. Willett, M.D., Dr.P.H., Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School; Professor of Epidemiology and Nutrition and Chairman, Department of Nutrition, Harvard School of Public Health. Drs. Speizer and Willett received the award for their work with the "Nurses' Health Study," the largest and longest running women's health study in the world. Dr. Willett built upon the foundation of this research and conducted studies that identified biological, environmental and nutritional risk factors for several chronic diseases. His work allowed for a direct evaluation of the relationship between dietary habits and disease.
  • 2004–Michael E. DeBakey, M.D., Chancellor Emeritus, Baylor College of Medicine. Dr. DeBakey's discoveries in the field of artery disease have made a substantial contribution to the fight against this leading cause of death. He is credited with the development of the Dacron graft used for replacing diseased arteries in the body. In 1954, he performed the first successful repair of an abdominal aortic aneurysm using a Dacron graft. These artificial arteries have been used throughout the world to save millions of lives. This medical innovation also allowed Dr. DeBakey to pioneer a series of related surgical procedures, including the first successful aortocoronary artery bypass using one of the patient's own leg veins to "bypass" a blocked artery in the heart. Dr. DeBakey also has trained foreign colleagues and has consulted with countries across the globe to help build health care systems and cardiovascular surgery programs.
  • 2005–C. Everett Koop, M.D., Sc.D., Former Surgeon General of the United States; Elizabeth DeCamp McInerny Professor of Surgery, Dartmouth Medical School; Senior Scholar, C. Everett Koop Institute at Dartmouth Medical School. Dr. Koop was surgeon-in-chief of Children's Hospital of Philadelphia for more than three decades; under his guidance the nation's first neonatal intensive care nursery was established there. He helped establish the American Academy of Pediatric Surgeons and served as founding editor-in-chief of the Journal of Pediatric Surgery. As Surgeon General, Dr. Koop challenged America to become a "Smoke-Free Society by the Year 2000" and in a landmark report detailed the consequences of involuntary smoking. He also served as the primary author of "Understanding AIDS," the 1999 public health brochure mailed to 107 million households.

The award honors former RWJF president, David E. Rogers, M.D., who advocated an increased emphasis on primary care, services for the poor and the elderly, the participation of minorities in medicine and other innovations in health care. The award includes a $10,000 stipend and is made each year during the AAMC's annual meeting.

The AAMC calls for nominations every year in a mailing to all 125 U.S. medical schools, 400 member teaching hospitals and more than 90 affiliated professional organizations. A selection committee of six individuals, three appointed by the AAMC and three by RWJF, are named each year to review the nominations. The AAMC's executive committee makes the final decision.

RWJF supported this project with three grants totaling $482,516.

 See Grant Detail & Contact Information
 Back to the Table of Contents



The David E. Rogers Award


Association of American Medical Colleges (Washington,  DC)

  • Amount: $ 77,243
    Dates: July 1995 to June 2000
    ID#:  026780

  • Amount: $ 127,920
    Dates: July 2000 to June 2005
    ID#:  027428

  • Amount: $ 277,353
    Dates: October 2005 to September 2015
    ID#:  039873


Kathleen S. Turner
(202) 828-0463

Web Site


 Back to the Table of Contents


(Current as of date of this report; as provided by grantee organization; not verified by RWJF; items not available from RWJF.)

World Wide Web Sites

www.aamc.org/about/awards/rogers.htm is the page of the AAMC Web site that describes the awards and lists the recipients. The press releases for the winners are linked to this page.

 Back to the Table of Contents

Report prepared by: Susan Parker
Report prepared by: Molly McKaughan
Reviewed by: Richard Camer
Reviewed by: Marian Bass
Program Officer: Ruby Hearn
Program Officer: Risa Lavizzo-Mourey
Program Officer: Constance Pechura

Most Requested