2015 RWJF Culture of Health Prize

Call for Applications

  • Release Date: June 25, 2014


The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF) 2015 Culture of Health Prize is awarded annually to honor outstanding community efforts and partnerships that are helping people live healthier lives. Winning communities will each receive a $25,000 cash prize and have their accomplishments celebrated and shared broadly with the goal of raising awareness and inspiring locally-driven change across the country.

Total Awards

Up to 10 RWJF Culture of Health Prize winning communities will be honored in 2015 and each will receive a $25,000 cash prize.

Key Dates

September 17, 2014 (3 p.m. ET)
Phase I Applications (for all applicant communities) due.

October 17, 2014
Invitations extended to select applicant communities to submit Phase II Applications.

December 10, 2014 (3 p.m. ET)
Phase II Applications (for invited communities) due.

February 13, 2015
Invitations extended to finalist communities to participate in the Site Visit Phase.

April 6 – June 12, 2015
Site visits with finalist communities.

Fall 2015
National announcement of winners and celebration event.

Eligibility and Selection Criteria

The RWJF Culture of Health Prize is a place-based prize that honors whole U.S. communities; submissions representing the work of a single organization or initiative will not be considered.

To be eligible to apply for a prize, a “community” must be based in the United States and fall into one of the following categories:

  • Town
  • City
  • County
  • Tribe or Tribal Community
  • Region (such as contiguous towns, cities, or counties)

Communities will be asked to select primary and alternate contacts for their application. These individuals will indicate their organizational affiliation, which could be a:

  • Business
  • Coalition
  • Hospital or health care organization
  • Local foundation
  • Government agency or department
  • School
  • Social service agency

Each applicant community will be required to designate a local U.S. governmental or tax exempt public charity operating in its community to accept the $25,000 prize on the community’s behalf, should they win. Community partners can decide together how to use the funds to benefit the community; reports to RWJF or UWPHI on prize expenditures are not required.

September 17, 2014, 3:00 p.m. ET


Kirstin Siemering

Manager, RWJF Culture of Health Prize, County Health Rankings & Roadmaps

University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute


Learn more from the 2014 Culture of Health Prize Winners

2014 Prize Winners

Six communities are beacons of hope and progress for healthier people and families. They were selected from more than 250 applicants, and are leading some of the nation’s most innovative efforts to build a national Culture of Health.

Meet the winners