Remarks Honoring Dr. Steve Schroeder

The Institute of Medicine presents former RWJF president and CEO with prestigious Lienhard Award.

    • October 21, 2013
Risa Lavizzo-Mourey

Risa Lavizzo-Mourey, MD, RWJF president and CEO

The Lienhard Award, established in 1986 and supported by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF), is presented annually by the Institute of Medicine (IOM). The award is named in honor of Gustav O. Lienhard, chairman of RWJF from 1971 to 1986. The Lienhard Award is one of IOM's highest honors. Awardees receive a medal and $40,000. The award recognizes individuals for meritorious achievement in improving health care services.

Steven A. Schroeder, MD, former president and CEO of the Foundation, is the 2013 honoree. He was cited for his lifelong achievements—in particular for his pioneering efforts in the field of tobacco control.

At a ceremony at IOM on October 21, 2013, current RWJF President and CEO Risa Lavizzo-Mourey, MD, offered congratulatory remarks.