Investigator Awards in Health Policy Research
2011 Investigator awardee Susan Shapiro, PhD, received the John J. Regan Writing Award (PDF - 539 KB) for her article, “Advance Directives: The Elusive Goal of Having the Last Word,” published in the Fall 2012 NAELA Journal.

Read More Achievements & Accolades >>

Clinical Scholars
Margaret Gourlay, MD, MPH, (’02) won the Top 10 Clinical Research Achievement Award from the Clinical Research Forum for her study on bone density screening for older women.

Rhonda Mattox, MD, (’08) has been selected as the 2013 American Psychiatry Association Jeanne Spurlock Congressional Fellow.

RWJF/U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs Clinical Scholar Gordon Sun, MD, (’11) was selected as a recipient of the 2013 Presidential Scholarship for New Health Services Researchers for AcademyHealth’s 2013 Annual Research Meeting.

Clinical Scholars Anita Vashi, MD, (’11) and Nurit Harari, MD, (’11) described their opinions on using disaster preparedness strategies in communities where urban violence, specifically gun violence, is prevalent in order to “build resilience” in a recent op-ed piece in the CT Mirror.

Arjun Venkatesh, MD, MBA, (’12) was awarded the 2013 Alice S. Hersh Scholarship to attend AcademyHealth’s 2013 Annual Research Meeting, as well as to present the following papers at the conference: “Variation in U.S. Hospital Emergency Department Admission Rates by Clinical Condition, 2009” and “Use of Observation Care for ED Patients With Chest Pain: A Statewide Analysis of Society of Chest Pain Centers Metrics in Georgia, 2009.”

Ilse Wiechers, MD, MPP, (’12) was recently named chair of the Board of Trustees for the American Association for Geriatric Psychiatry Political Action Committee.

Executive Nurse Fellows
Jean Giddens, PhD, RN, (’11) has been named dean of the Virginia Commonwealth University School of Nursing, effective June 30. Giddens currently serves as professor and executive dean of the College of Nursing at the University of New Mexico. She succeeds Nancy F. Langston, who was dean for 22 years and will retire this summer.

Legal Issues Confronting Today’s Nursing Faculty: A Case Study Approach, written by Mary Ellen Glasgow, PhD, RN, ACNS-BC, (’09) was selected for the 2012 Book of the Year Award by the American Journal of Nursing. Glasgow is dean and professor at the Duquesne University School of Nursing.

Deborah Gross, DNSc, MS, BSN, FAAN, (’06) was profiled by the American Journal of Nursing as an American Academy of Nursing’s Edge Runner in its March 2013 issue. Gross is a driving force behind the Chicago Parent Program, a best practice in prevention that recently was added to the National Registry of Evidence-Based Programs and Practices of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services’ Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration.

Dennis Sherrod, EdD, RN, (’03) nursing professor and Forsyth Medical Center endowed chair of recruitment and retention, was chosen by the University of North Carolina’s Board of Governors to receive this year’s Excellence of Teaching Award. Sherrod was nominated by Kineka Hull, the director of academic services in the School of Health Sciences, and will receive a bronze medallion and $7,500 at the university’s commencement ceremony.

Shelly Buck-Turner, MBA, BSN, RN, CCRN, (’11) has been selected as one of Virginia Commonwealth University School of Nursing’s 120 Visionary Leaders, recognized as part of the school’s 120th anniversary. She was honored at a gala dinner on May 30.

Laura Wood, DNP, MS, RN, (’12) was named chief nursing officer at Boston Children’s Hospital, taking over the post on May 13. Prior to taking the post, she was the Vice President and National Director of Clinical Solutions for Siemens Healthcare.

New Connections: Increasing Diversity of RWJF Programming
Alumna Monique Clinton-Sherrod, PhD, (’08) was elected to the Executive Board of the American Psychology Association Division 35 (Psychology of Women).

Marilyn Nanney, PhD, (’08) New Connections—Healthy Eating Research alumna, received an R01 grant from the National Institutes of Health. The grant, titled “Improving High School Breakfast Environments,” has been funded for $759,120 for fiscal year 2013.

Kimani Paul-Emile, PhD, (’11) was promoted to associate professor with tenure in May 2013 at the Fordham University School of Law.

Program alumna Niñfa Pena-Purcell, PhD, (’06) was promoted to associate professor at Texas A&M AgriLife Extension.

Nurse Faculty Scholars
Adejoke Ayoola, PhD, RN, (’12) has been selected as a Top 20 Medical and Nursing Professor in Michigan.

Maren Coffman, PhD, RN, (’09) has been selected by the University of North Carolina’s Charlotte Office of International Programs to receive its 2013 International Education Faculty Award. Coffman is an assistant professor in the College of Health and Human Services’ School of Nursing. She impressed the award’s selection committee members with her international work and significant contributions to the international study experience.

Elizabeth Cohn, DNSc, RN, (’12) has been selected as a judge for the Patient-Centered Outcomes Research Institute Challenge.

Laurie Theeke, PhD, RN, (’10) was inducted into the Academy of Excellence at the University of West Virginia School of Nursing as a result of her participation in the Teaching Scholars Program.

Scholars in Health Policy Research
Christopher Bail, PhD, (’11) discussed immigration reform after the Boston Marathon bombings on Huffington Post Live on April 24.

John Cawley, PhD, (’99) was quoted in a CNN article, “Coming to a Workplace Near You: Fines for Being Fat?” for his study of a workplace program that offered financial incentives for losing weight. The article was published on April 15, 2013.

Dino Falaschetti, PhD, (’01) co-authored an article, “Does Climate Change Worry You? How About Insurance to Cover Its Consequences?” published in Forbes, April 25, 2013.

Alumnus Michael Greenstone, PhD, (’98), director of the Hamilton Project, co-authored an opinion piece, “Better Living Standards,” published in the New York Times on April 16. The article suggests that evidence on the direct effects of immigration—higher wages, lower prices, and net taxes—shows that immigration raises standards of living for Americans.

Colin Jerolmack, PhD, (’08) has authored a book, The Global Pigeon, which shows how our interactions with pigeons offer surprising insights into city life, community, culture, and politics. The ethnography was published by the University of Chicago Press.

In his blog published on the Huffington Post, Mark Sawyer, PhD, (’03) discussed the claim that Beyonce and Jay Z are race traitors for taking a trip to Cuba. “Beyonce and Jay Z Are Race Traitors for Going to Cuba !?!?” was published on April 15, 2013.

Boris Shor, PhD, (’11) has been awarded the 2013–2014 Rutgers Center on the American Governor Research Award.

Craig Volden, PhD, (’01) was interviewed on MSNBC on April 9, 2013. Volden explained his research published in the American Journal of Political Science, which found that female lawmakers are better than their male counterparts at reaching across the aisle and could be more effective at their jobs.