Clinical Scholars Welcomes Five New NAC Members
The Clinical Scholars program recently added five new members to its national advisory committee. They are: Mary Catherine Beach, MD, MPH, M. Roy Wilson, MD, MS, alumnus Robert F. St. Peter, MD, (’90), alumna Stacy Lindau, MD, MAPP, (’00), and Angela Diaz, MD, MPH.

Read More Programs’ Progress >>

Center for Health Policy at Meharry Medical College Announces the 2013 Summer Institute on Health Policy
The RWJF Center for Health Policy at Meharry Medical College is pleased to announce the 2013 Summer Institute on Health Policy, June 3–13, 2013, at Meharry Medical College in Nashville, Tenn. The Summer Institute on Health Policy will consist of two weeks of intensive health policy training facilitated by nationally renowned scholars, with an emphasis on an interactive classroom learning environment. It was a huge success in its inaugural year last summer, with over 100 participants from nine institutions represented. This summer, the Center will welcome back David Williams, Ph.D., notable social scientist from Harvard University, who will lecture on “Race, Ethnicity, and Health.” Also scheduled this year is Guy David, Ph.D., associate professor of health care management at the University of Pennsylvania’s Wharton School of Business. David will provide an introductory lecture on “Health Economics.” Visit the Center’s website for the latest updates, registration, and course details.

Investigator Awards in Health Policy Research Welcomes New NAC Members
The Investigator Awards in Health Policy Research program announced that David Mechanic, PhD, and Neil R. Powe, MD, MPH, MBA, have joined its national advisory committee. Mechanic is the René Dubos University Professor of Behavioral Sciences and director of the Institute for Health, Health Care Policy, and Aging Research at Rutgers University. He joins the committee after having served for 12 years as director of the Investigator Awards program. Mechanic has written and edited numerous books, research articles, chapters, and other publications in medical sociology, health policy, health services research, and the social and behavioral sciences. Powe is the Constance B. Wofsy Distinguished Professor and vice-chair of medicine at the University of California San Francisco, and chief of medical services at San Francisco General Hospital. Powe’s research unites medicine and public health with the goals of saving and improving the quality of human lives. It involves the knowledge of fundamental discoveries in biology and clinical medicine to advance the health of patients who ultimately make up a larger population affected by a disease.

New Connections Will Welcome Its Seventh Cohort of Grantees
The seventh cohort of New Connections grantees will begin their projects on April 1, 2013. New Connections provides up to 13 grants per year to support junior investigators and midcareer consultants to address specific research questions and program evaluation needs, as posed by RWJF program teams. New Connections grantees receive support from both RWJF and New Connections program staff as they complete their projects.

Scholars in Health Policy Research Announces New Cohort
The Scholars in Health Policy Research program has announced the recipients of the 2013–2015 fellowship awards. The new recipients comprise the program’s 20th cohort of outstanding new PhDs in economics, political science, and sociology who are advancing their involvement in health policy research.