Feb 4 2014

RWJF Milestones, February 2014

The following are among the many honors received recently by Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF) leaders, scholars, fellows, grantees and alumni:

Former New Orleans Health Commissioner Karen DeSalvo, MD, MPH, MSc, is now leading the Office of the National Coordinator for Health Information Technology in Washington, D.C. An RWJF Generalist Physician Faculty Scholar alumna, DeSalvo also was recently named one of Governing Magazine’s nine public officials of the year

Brendan G. Carr, MD, MA, MS, assistant professor of emergency medicine and epidemiology at the Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania, has been named director of the federal Emergency Care Coordination Center (ECCC). The ECCC was created by presidential directive to improve national preparedness and response by promoting research, regional partnerships, and effective emergency medical systems. Carr is an RWJF Clinical Scholars alumna.

RWJF Executive Nurse Fellows program alumna Ann Cashion, PhD, RN, FAAN, has been named scientific director of the National Institute of Nursing Research’s (NINR) Division of Intramural Research. Cashion was formerly a senior advisor to the NINR Office of the Director. Cashion’s research expertise focuses on genetic markers that predict clinical outcomes.

Pamela Jeffries, PhD, RN, ANEF, has been named the Johns Hopkins University School of Nursing’s first vice provost for digital initiatives. Jeffries, a professor and associate dean for academic affairs, will remain on the faculty at the School of Nursing. She is an RWJF Executive Nurse Fellows program alumna.

Harold Amos Medical Faculty Development Program alumnus Charles Howell, MD, AGAF, will become chair of Howard University’s department of internal medicine this month. Howell has a longstanding research interest in racial disparities in liver diseases, with a focus on chronic C virus and liver cancer.

Harold Amos Program alumnus Ayotunde Dokun, MD, PhD, received the American Heart Association’s Jay D. Coffman Early Career Investigator Award. The award recognizes the research and background of an outstanding peripheral vascular disease student/trainee member or early career investigator member.

The Society for Cultural Anthropology awarded Natasha Dow Schüll, PhD, MA, an honorable mention for the 2013 Gregory Bateson Prize for her book Addiction by Design: Machine Gambling in Las Vegas. The Bateson Prize rewards work that is theoretically rich and ethnographically grounded. An RWJF Health & Society Scholars program alumna, Schüll focuses her work on gaming machines. Read more about Schüll’s work.

The Illinois Primary Health Care Association gave Linnea Windel, MSN, RN, its Danny K. Davis Achievement Award. Windel is president and CEO of VNA Health Care and an RWJF Executive Nurse Fellows alumna. The award recognizes Windel’s leadership and service to the community health center movement.

Fresh Fruit, Broken Bodies: Migrant Farmworkers in the United States, by Seth Holmes, PhD, MD, recently won two book awards: the 2013 New Millennium Book Award from the Society for Medical Anthropology; and the 2013 Anthropology of Work Book Award from the Society for the Anthropology of Work. Holmes is an alumnus of the RWJF Health & Society Scholars program. An excerpt from his book is available on the Human Capital Blog.

The Kaiser Permanente Burch program has announced its 2014-2016 Leadership Development Awards. Recipients include RWJF Health & Society Scholars alumni Helena Hansen, MD, PhD, and Wizdom Powell-Hammond, PhD; as well as Lisa Cacari Stone, PhD, from the Robert Wood Johnson Center for Health Policy at the University of New Mexico. Awardees work for social justice and promote health equity for underserved communities

The University of North Carolina (UNC) at Chapel Hill, School of Nursing, recognized Robin Knobel, PhD, RN, with its Distinguished Alumna Award. Knobel is an assistant professor at Duke University School of Nursing and an RWJF Nurse Faculty Scholar. Her research has led to changes in national guidelines regarding neonatal resuscitation.

The city of Richmond, Calif., is working with the University of California, Berkeley to create a climate action plan. Berkeley professor Jason Corburn, PhD, and graduate students in Berkeley’s College of Environmental Design are developing it. Corborn is a recipient of an RWJF Investigator Award in Health Policy Research and an RWJF Health & Society Scholar.

Nancy Shendell-Falik, MA, RN, was named chief operating officer and senior vice president/chief nursing officer at Baystate Medical Center in Springfield, Mass. The post is a new dual leadership position for the medical center. Shendell-Falik is an RWJF Executive Nurse Fellow alumna.

University of Cincinnati College of Nursing Dean Greer Glazer, PhD, RN, CNP, was named to the National Diversity Council’s 2013 list of Ohio’s Most Powerful and Influential Women during the sixth annual Ohio Diversity and Leadership Conference. Glazer, an RWJF Executive Nurse Fellows alumna, helped create the College of Nursing Diversity Advisory Council.

RWJF Clinical Scholars Justin List, MD, MAR, and Lauren Hughes, MD, MPH, have been chosen as AcademyHealth’s 2014 Presidential Scholars for the AcademyHealth Institute on Advocacy and Public Policy. This scholarship provides financial support to attend the 2014 National Health Policy Conference.

Kathy Apple, MS, RN, FAAN, received the 2013 Ben Shimberg Public Service Award from the Citizen’s Advocacy Center “for promoting best practices in nursing regulation and motivating boards of nursing to regularly evaluate and improve their performance as protectors of the public interest.” Apple, an RWJF Executive Nurse Fellow alumna, is the CEO of the National Council of State Boards of Nursing.

Goldfarb School of Nursing at Barnes-Jewish College in Missouri was recently honored as the “2013 Best School of Nursing for Men” by the American Assembly for Men in Nursing. "The acceptance of and the creation of more inclusive environments for gender and other forms of diversity will be essential to meeting future health care workforce needs," said Goldfarb’s dean, Michael Bleich, PhD, RN, FAAN, an RWJF Executive Nurse Fellows alumnus.

Janice Phillips, RN, PhD, FAAN, is director of government affairs and global regulations at the Commission on Graduates of Foreign Nursing Schools (CGFNS), an organization that provides certification and credentialing for nurses. Phillips is an RWJF Health Policy Fellow. More information about CGFNS is available here.

Eliana Perrin, MD, MPH, an RWJF Clinical Scholars alumna, has been appointed Associate Vice Chancellor for Research at the UNC School of Medicine.

Levi Garraway, MD, PhD received Paul Marks Prize for Cancer Research from the Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center for his research work. Garraway is a Harold Amos Medical Faculty Development Program alumnus.

Tags: Awards & Accolades, Clinical Scholars, Executive Nurse Fellows, Generalist Physician Faculty Scholars, Harold Amos Medical Faculty Development Program, Health & Society Scholars, Health Leadership, Education, and Training, Health Policy Fellows, Human Capital News, Investigator Awards in Health Policy Research, Milestones, Nurse Faculty Scholars, Nurses and Nursing, Nursing