Jul 29 2013

RWJF Milestones, July 2013

The following are among the many honors received recently by Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF) leaders, scholars, fellows, grantees and alumni.

Arthur L. Kellermann, MD, MPH, has been named dean of the F. Edward Hébert School of Medicine at the Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences. He comes to the U.S. Military Medical School from the RAND Corporation, where he was the Paul O’Neill-Alcoa Chair in Health Policy Analysis.  Before that, Kellermann was at the Emory School of Medicine.  Kellermann is an alumnus of both the RWJF Health Policy Fellows program and the RWJF Clinical Scholars program.

The American Academy of Nursing will induct 12 RWJF Executive Nurse Fellows and four RWJF Nurse Faculty Scholars into its 2013 “Class of Fellows,” which is among the most prestigious honors in the nursing profession. The Executive Nurse Fellows are: Margaret Baker, PhD, RN; Susan Bakewell-Sachs, PhD, RN; Gaurdia Banister, PhD, RN; Suzanne Boyle, DNSc, RN; Janie Canty-Mitchell, PhD, RN; Stephen J. Cavanagh, PhD, MS, MPA, RN; Margaret Flinter, PhD, APRN; Mary Ellen Glasgow,  PhD, RN, ACNS-BC; Mary Lou Manning, PhD, RN, CPNP; Sandra Festa Ryan, MSN, CPNP, FCPP, FAANP; Sharon A. R. Stanley, PhD, RN; and Danuta M. Wojnar, PhD, RN. The Nurse Faculty Scholars are: Robert Atkins, PhD, RN; Jason Farley, PhD, MPH, CRNP; Joachim Voss, PhD, RN; and Shannon Zenk, PhD, MPH, RN.

The American Red Cross awarded two RWJF Executive Nurse Fellows its Florence Nightingale Medal: fellow Sharon Stanley, PhD, RN, and alumna Tener Goodwin Veenema, PhD, MPH, RN, CPNP, FNAP, FAAN. The award is the highest international distinction given to those in nursing and is given to “nurses who distinguish themselves in time of peace or war by their exceptional courage and devotion to victims of a conflict or disaster or exemplary service in the areas of public health or nursing education.”

Harold Amos Medical Faculty Development Program alumna Deidra Crews, MD, ScM, was named the 2013-2015 Gilbert S. Omenn Anniversary Fellow at the prestigious Institute of Medicine. Among her previous research is a study examining the association between unhealthy diet and kidney disease among low-income individuals.

RWJF Health & Society Scholars program alumna A. Janet Tomiyama, PhD, is the recipient of the Society of Behavioral Medicine’s 2013 Early Career Investigator Award.

Health Policy Fellows alumnus Richard Rieselbach, MD, is the recipient of the Richard Neubauer Advocate for Internal Medicine Award from the American College of Physicians.

Executive Nurse Fellow alumna Mary Lou de Leon Siantz, PhD, RN, FAAN, was appointed director of the Center for the Advancement of Multicultural Perspectives on Science (CAMPOS) at the University of California-Davis.

RWJF Investigator Award in Health Policy Research recipient Howard Markel, MD, PhD, FAAP, has been named the new Editor-in-Chief of The Milbank Quarterly. Markel will assume the position on October 1, 2013.

Executive Nurse Fellows alumna Gloria J. McNeal, PhD, ACNS-BC, FAAN, is the new dean of National University’s School of Health and Human Services.

The University of Utah named Executive Nurse Fellow Patricia G. Morton, PhD, RN, FAAN, dean of its College of Nursing.

Sonya Zeller, MBA, MSN, RN  has joined the administrative team at Indiana University Health Paoli Hospital as vice president, chief operating officer and chief nursing officer. Zeller is an alumna of the Executive Nurse Fellows program.

Sara Shostak, PhD, MPH, an alumna of the Health & Society Scholars program and assistant professor of sociology at Brandeis University was nominated by students to receive the school’s Michael L. Walzer ’56 Award for Teaching.

The University of North Carolina at Charlotte Office of International Programs awarded Nurse Faculty Scholars alumna Maren J. Coffman, PhD, RN the 2013 International Education Faculty Award.

Nurse Faculty Scholars alumna Ruth Taylor-Piliae, PhD, RN, received the Suzann Van Ort Peer Award for Graduate Teaching from the College of Nursing at the University of Arizona.

Executive Nurse Fellows alumna Ann O’Sullivan, PhD, RN, FAAN, received The Daisy Award for Extraordinary Nurses from the Daisy Foundation. The award was established by the family of J. Patrick Barnes to show nurses “how deserving they are of our society's profound respect for the education, training, brainpower, and skill they put into their work, and especially for the caring with which they deliver their care.” O’Sullivan received the award for her work as coordinator of the Perinatal Loss and Palliative Care programs at Anne Arundel Medical Center.

The American Association of Nurse Practitioners inducted Nurse Faculty Scholars alumna Tami Lynn Thomas, PhD, CPNP, RNC, and current Scholar Elizabeth Kostas-Polston, PhD, APRN, WHNP-BC, as Fellows this year.

Nurse Faculty Scholar Anna Beeber, PhD, RN was named a fellow by the Gerontological Society of America.

Cindy Anderson, PhD, RN, FAAN, a Nurse Faculty Scholars alumna, was named a fellow of the American Heart Association. The Council for High Blood Pressure Research conferred the honor.

Nurse Faculty Scholar Alison Colbert, PhD, APRN, BC, has been awarded a year-long fellowship in the Leadership for Academic Nursing Program of the American Association of Colleges of Nursing.

Tags: Clinical Scholars, Executive Nurse Fellows, Harold Amos Medical Faculty Development Program, Health & Society Scholars, Health Policy Fellows, Human Capital News, Investigator Awards in Health Policy Research, Milestones, Nurse Faculty Scholars, Nurses and Nursing, Nursing