Apr 17 2013

RWJF Milestones, April 2013

The following are among the many honors received recently by Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF) leaders, scholars, fellows, grantees and alumni.

The Chicago Parenting Program, an innovative program that supports healthy parenting and reduces behavioral problems among children, was recently added to the National Registry of Evidence-Based Programs and Practices, run by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services’ Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration. RWJF Executive Nurse Fellow alumna Deborah Gross, DNSc, RN, FAAN, was a driving force behind the program, which is used by Head Start centers in Chicago and New York City, among others.  RWJF Nurse Faculty Scholar Susan Breitenstein, PhD, RN, PMHCNS-BC, and Executive Nurse Fellow alumna Sharon Tucker, PhD, RN, joined with Gross and others to conduct a study on the program, published in Research in Nursing & Health. It was recently named the journal’s Best Research Article award for 2012.

David Kindig, MD, PhD, RWJF Health & Society Scholars program director at the University of Wisconsin, and Health & Society Scholars program National Advisory Committee (NAC) member George Isham, MD, MS, co-chaired the Institute of Medicine’s Roundtable on Population Health Improvement, which is exploring factors beyond medical care that affect people's health. Among other participants in the Roundtable: RWJF Senior Program Officer Pamela Russo, MD, MPH, and Health & Society Scholars NAC Member James Knickman, PhD.

RWJF Health Policy Fellows alumna Carmen R. Green, MD, was appointed the University of Michigan Health System’s inaugural Associate Vice President and Associate Dean for Health Equity and Inclusion. In the position, Green will find and address inequalities in care, education and research, and promote health care careers to those from groups that are underrepresented in the field.

Sylvia Garcia, JD, a member of the RWJF Community Health Leaders program NAC, was elected to the Texas State Senate (District 6) in a run-off election to fill the seat previously held by the late state Sen. Mario Gallegos.

Executive Nurse Fellows alumna Margaret Heitkemper, PhD, RN, FAAN, has been chosen for induction into the International Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame. She is among 13 nurses from the United States and 19 worldwide who were chosen for the honor.

The University of Virginia has named Nancy E. Dunlap, MD, PhD, MBA, dean of the School of Medicine, effective May 1. Dunlap is an alumna of the Health Policy Fellows program.

Executive Nurse Fellow Jean Giddens, PhD, RN, FAAN, was named dean of the Virginia Commonwealth University School of Nursing. She will begin June 30.

Southern Illinois University—Edwardsville School of Nursing dean and Executive Nurse Fellows alumna Marcia Maurer, PhD, RN, has been elected to serve on the board of trustees of the American Association of Colleges of Nursing.

Executive Nurse Fellows alumna Cynda Hylton Rushton, PhD, RN, FAAN, a professor at the Johns Hopkins University School of Nursing, has been named the inaugural Anne and George L. Bunting Professor in Clinical Ethics. The joint professorship between the School of Nursing and the Berman Institute of Bioethics is the first endowed professorship in the U.S. that combines nursing and clinical ethics.

Health & Society Scholar Esther M. Friedman, PhD, accepted a position as an associate social scientist at the RAND Corporation, beginning in September.

Mark C. Pachucki, PhD, an alumnus of the Health & Society Scholars program, joined the Mongan Institute for Health Policy as a faculty member in February.

Vanderbilt University Health System has named RWJF Interdisciplinary Nursing Quality Research Initiative grantee Blackford Middleton, MD, MPH, MSc, as assistant vice chancellor for health affairs and chief informatics officer for health systems.

David Van Sickle, PhD, MA, co-founder and CEO of Asthmapolis and an alumnus of the Health & Society Scholars program, was a presenter at a SXSW (South by Southwest) panel called “Sensor Technologies: The Future of Health?

Health & Society Scholars alumna Emily Walton, PhD, joined Dartmouth as an assistant professor of sociology. Current Health & Society Scholar Jason Houle, PhD, will join the Dartmouth Sociology Department as an assistant professor on July 1.

Barbara Wolfe, PhD, APRN, FAAN, associate dean for research at Boston College’s Connell School of Nursing and an alumna of the Executive Nurse Fellows program, will be awarded the Mary A. Manning Mentoring Award by the Massachusetts Association of Registered Nurses at its convention in April.

Executive Nurse Fellows alumnus Dennis Sherrod, EdD, RN, chair of Recruitment and Retention in the Division of Nursing at Winston-Salem State University, has been selected by the Board of Governors of the University of North Carolina to receive one of its Annual Awards for Excellence in Teaching.

Children at Risk, a nonprofit organization that drives change for children through research and education and by influencing public policy, chose Health & Society Scholars alumna Rachel Kimbro, PhD, as its April “Children’s Hero of the Month.”

From the blog editors: We were saddened to learn of the passing of two RWJF program leaders.  Will Deal, National Advisory Committee (NAC) chair for the RWJF Summer Medical and Dental Education Program (SMDEP), passed away in March. Deal had served on the NAC since SMDEP began. His dedication to the program and to improving the experiences of its scholars made a difference in the lives of thousands of students. Read more about Deal here.

Michael D. Cohen, PhD, recipient of an RWJF Investigator Award in Health Policy Research, and the William D. Hamilton Professor of Complex Systems, Information and Public Policy at the University of Michigan School of Information. Read more about Cohen here.

Tags: Community Health Leaders, Executive Nurse Fellows, Health & Society Scholars, Health Policy Fellows, Human Capital News, Interdisciplinary Nursing Quality Research Initiative, Milestones, Nurse Faculty Scholars, Nursing