Oct 4 2012

Honors, Awards, Accomplishments...

The following are among the many honors received recently by Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF) leaders, scholars, fellows and grantees.

RWJF President and CEO Risa Lavizzo-Mourey, MD, MBA, was named to Forbes’ annual list of the “World’s 100 Most Powerful Women.” The list includes political leaders, corporate executives, top government officials, leaders of nongovernmental organizations, and a first lady.

Susan Hassmiller, PhD, RN, FAAN, RWJF senior adviser for nursing and director of the Future of Nursing: Campaign for Action, is one of the recipients of the National League for Nursing President’s Award. The award recognizes Hassmiller’s “significant contributions to advancing the health of the nation through excellence in nursing education and practice.”

As part of its Injury Center’s 20th Anniversary, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention has launched the "20 for 20 Project" to honor those who have been innovators in the field of violence and injury prevention. Among those honored: Jacquelyn Campbell, PhD, RN, FAAN, Nurse Faculty Scholars program director, and three alumni of the Clinical Scholars program: David Grossman, MD, MPH, Art Kellerman, MD, MPH, FACE, and Fred Rivara, MD, MPH.

David Blumenthal, MD, MPP, recipient of an Investigator Award, has been named the next president of the Commonwealth Fund. His term will begin January 1, 2013.

RWJF Community Health Leader Dana Harvey, MS, has been honored as a White House “Champion of Change” for her work providing organic and locally grown foods in a neighborhood without a full-service grocery store.

The American Academy of Nursing announced its 2012 fellows, many with connections to RWJF. Among them: RWJF Nurse Faculty Scholars Matthew McHugh, PhD, JD, MPH, RN, CRNP, and Maria Katapodi, PhD, RN, and alumnus Randy Jones, PhD, RN; RWJF Executive Nurse Fellows Debra Barksdale, PhD, RN, FAAN, and Barbara Wadsworth, MSN, MBA, RN, NEA-BC, and alumnae Mary Ann Fuchs, MSN, RN, and Tara Hulsey, PhD, MSN, BSN; RWJF Interdisciplinary Nursing Quality Research Initiative grantee Susan Letvak, PhD, RN; Partners Investing in Nursing’s Future project leader Darlene Curley, MS, RN; and New Jersey Action Coalition co-leads Edna Cadmus, PhD, RN, NEA-BC, and Susan Salmond, EdD, RN, CNE, CTN.

Hulsey has also been appointed to the South Carolina State Board of Nursing.

McHugh was also appointed to the Institute of Medicine’s new Standing Committee on Nurse Credentialing Research.

David Asch, MD, MBA, site director for the RWJF Health & Society Scholars program, was also appointed to an Institute of Medicine board. He will serve on the Committee on Governance and Financing of Graduate Medical Education.

After a local Daughters of the American Revolution chapter presented its community service award to Community Health Leader Zane Gates, MD, the national organization named Gates its overall community service award winner.

Health & Society Scholars alumnus Matt Wray, PhD, MA, was awarded a Fall 2012 MacDowell Colony Fellowship to finish writing his book on suicide in Las Vegas—a project he began while in the Health & Society Scholars program. Read a post Wray wrote for the RWJF Human Capital Blog about the need to examine suicide from a population health perspective.

Amelie Ramirez, DrPH, also a member of the Health & Society Scholars National Advisory Committee, was recognized as a “First Lady” of the Intercultural Cancer Council for her “long-term and outstanding achievements in health and science.”

Nurse Faculty Scholars alumna Jennifer Wenzel, PhD, RN, is the recipient of the 2012 Oncology Nursing Society Excellence in Writing Award for Qualitative Nursing Research.

Several RWJF grantees were selected to attend the inaugural American Association of Colleges of Nursing-Wharton Executive Leadership Program, held in August at the Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania. Among them: Executive Nurse Fellow alumnae Ann Cary, PhD, MPH, RN, Beth Ann Swan, PhD, CRNP, FAAN, Lorraine Frazier, PhD, MS, RN, FAAN, Juliann Sebastian, PhD, RN, FAAN, and Kristen M. Swanson, PhD, RN, FAAN; and Nurse Faculty Scholar alumnus Devon Berry, PhD, RN.

The American Nurses Association (ANA) bestowed awards on several RWJF grantees and leaders. Gaurdia Elane Banister, PhD, RN, an Executive Nurse Fellows alumna and a member of the National Advisory Committee of New Careers in Nursing, was given the Mary Mahoney Award for her contributions to advancing equal opportunities in nursing for members of minority groups. Executive Nurse Fellows program co-director Linda R. Cronenwett, PhD, RN, FAAN, was given the Jessie M. Scott Award for demonstration of the interdependent relationships among nursing education, practice and research. Executive Nurse Fellows alumna Brenda M. Nevidjon, MSN, RN, FAAN, was given an Honorary Recognition Award for her service to the nursing profession.

The Gerontological Society of America chose Mary D. Naylor, PhD, RN, FAAN, program director of the RWJF Interdisciplinary Nursing Quality Research Initiative, as the recipient of the 2012 Maxwell A. Pollack Award for Productive Aging.

Executive Nurse Fellow Elizabeth Speakman, EdD, RN, CDE, ANEF, has been named co-director of the Jefferson Center for Interprofessional Education at the Jefferson School of Nursing in Philadelphia.

Two Executive Nurse Fellow alumnae have been named deans: Jeanette Andrews, PhD, RN, is dean of the University of South Carolina’s College of Nursing; and Derryl Block, PhD, MPH, RN, is the dean of the College of Health and Human Sciences at Northern Illinois University.

Tiffany L. Green, PhD, a Health & Society Scholar, is one of five recipients of the 2012 Foundation for Child Development Young Scholars Program grant award from the Foundation for Child Development. The award will support her research on prenatal insurance and prenatal care among the children of Black immigrants.

Tags: Grant Awards, Health Care Workforce, Leadership Development, Milestones