Jun 23 2014

RWJF Milestones, June 2014

The following are among the many honors received recently by Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF) leaders, scholars, fellows, grantees and alumni:

Emery Brown, MD, PhD, an alumnus of the Harold Amos Medical Faculty Development Program has been elected a member of the National Academy of Sciences.

RWJF Investigator Award in Health Policy Research recipient James Perrin, PhD, is the new president of the American Academy of Pediatrics. He took office on January 1, 2014, beginning a one-year term.

The American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN) has named Deborah E. Trautman, PhD, RN, as its new chief executive officer, effective June 16. Trautman, an RWJF Health Policy Fellows program alumna, currently serves as executive director of the Center for Health Policy and Healthcare Transformation at Johns Hopkins Hospital.

The American College of Physicians (ACP), the nation’s largest medical specialty organization, has voted Wayne Riley, MD, MPH, MBA, its president-elect. Riley is a former RWJF senior health policy associate.

Kenneth B. Chance, Sr., D.D.S. has been appointed dean of the Case Western Reserve University School of Dental Medicine and will begin his duties on July 1, 2014. He is an alumnus of the RWJF Health Policy Fellows program, and served on its national advisory committee. His is a current member of the national advisory committee of the RWJF Summer Medical and Dental Education Program.

Katherine Auger, MD, and Tammy Chang, MD, MPH, MS, both alumnae of the RWJF Clinical Scholars program, each received the AcademyHealth Presidential Scholarship for New Health Services Researchers. The award provides early-career researchers financial support to attend AcademyHealth’s annual research meeting, as well as the opportunity to advise the organization about how to better meet the needs of new health services researchers and junior faculty.

Fairfield University has appointed Lynn Babington, PhD, MN, RN, its senior vice president for academic affairs. Babington has served as Fairfield’s dean of the School of Nursing since 2012. Previously, she was director of the Doctorate of Nursing Practice program at the Northeastern University School of Nursing. She is an RWJF Executive Nurse Fellow.

A number of RWJF scholar alumni have been named to the editorial board of the American Journal of Health Economics, a new publication of the American Society of Health Economists. Four Investigator Award recipients are on the board: John Cawley, PhD, Martin Gaynor, PhD, Deborah Haas-Wilson, PhD, Thomas McGuire, PhD, and Frank Sloan, PhD. Joining them is Christopher “Kitt” Carpenter, PhD, an alumnus of the RWJF Scholars in Health Policy Research (SHPR) program, as well as Kosali Simon, PhD, a member of the SHPR national advisory committee. Cawley is also a member of the advisory committee.

Lisa Cooper, MD, FACP, an alumnus of the Harold Amos Medical Faculty Development Program, was awarded the James D. Bruce Memorial Award for Distinguished Contributions in Preventive Medicine by the American College of Physicians.

RWJF Executive Nurse Fellow Ric Cuming, RN, MSN, EdD, has been appointed vice president and chief nursing executive for Einstein Healthcare Network, based in Pennsylvania. Most recently, Cuming served in a consulting role for Tenet Healthcare Corporation in Dallas, redesigning health systems’ work practices.

Scientist Barbara Damron, RN, PhD, FAAN, recently won the prestigious C-Change Comprehensive Cancer Control Champion Award, honoring her work in cancer treatment and research. Damron helped to create the New Mexico Cancer Council, which brings individuals, agencies, businesses, and community groups together in the fight against cancer. Damron is an associate professor at the RWJF Nursing and Health Policy Collaborative at the University of New Mexico.

Vernell DeWitty, PhD, RN, MBA, has been honored with the American Nurses Association’s Mary Mahoney Award for her significant contributions to advancing equal opportunities in nursing for members of minority groups. DeWitty, program deputy director of RWJF’s New Careers in Nursing program, was nominated by the Maryland Nurses Association.

Janet Krejci, PhD, RN, has been named interim provost and vice president for Academic Affairs at Illinois State University. Krejci is an RWJF Executive Nurse Fellows alumna.

Briana Mezuk, PhD, an RWJF Health & Society Scholars program alumna, recently earned the Best Early Investigator Award for the top research study from the American Association for Geriatric Psychiatry. Mezuk’s study focuses on factors that contribute to suicide among seniors who transition into an assisted-living facility or nursing home.

Two Clinical Scholars alumni received 2014 Society of General Internal Medicine (SGIM) regional awards. Matthew O'Brien, MD, received the Mid-Atlantic SGIM Advocacy and Community Service award, and Leora Horwitz, MD, MHS, an RWJF/Veterans Administration (VA) Clinical Scholar alumna, received the New England SGIM Clinician Investigator award.

RWJF/VA Scholar alumna Ann-Marie Rosland, MD, MS, received a U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs Merit Award for a randomized control trial called CO-IMPACT (Caring Others Increasing EngageMent in Patient Aligned Care Teams). The trial tests a family engagement intervention in the context of the VA’s patient-centered medical home program.

The Kempe Center for the Prevention and Treatment of Child Abuse and Neglect at the University of Colorado School of Medicine, run by RWJF Clinical Scholars Program Director Des Runyan, also an alumnus of the program, has been selected to receive the American Public Human Services Association’s 2014 Academic Excellence Award.

RWJF Clinical Scholars alumnus Terrence Steyer, MD, has been appointed chair of the Department of Family Medicine at the Medical University of South Carolina. He began his duties in the new role at the beginning of 2014.

RWJF Clinical Scholar alumnus Anthony Viera, MD, MPH, accepted the Association for Prevention Teaching and Research's 2014 Outstanding Educational Program Award for the MD-MPH program at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. The program, founded and directed for 15 years by Clinical Scholars alumnus Russell P. Harris, MD, MPH, is a collaboration between the University’s Schools of Medicine and Global Public Health. Viera now directs the program.

RWJF Scholars in Health Policy Research program alumnus Michael Greenstone, PhD, was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Tags: Clinical Scholars, Executive Nurse Fellows, Harold Amos Medical Faculty Development Program, Health & Society Scholars, Health Policy Fellows, Human Capital, Investigator Awards in Health Policy Research, New Careers in Nursing, Nurses, Nursing and Health Policy Collaborative at the University of New Mexico, Scholars and fellows, Scholars in Health Policy Research, Summer Medical and Dental Education Program